FAQs about Eggs

Now that we have our egg delivery program up and running, and we have some wonderful regular customers established, I’m starting to get asked some questions about fresh eggs. I love questions! Maybe because I’m a teacher and I just have that love for people who are eager to learn, or maybe it’s because we’re on this farming adventure and I just want everyone to know all the same amazing things we’re learning about as we go, but whatever the reason, I love it when people have good questions for me. So, I’m going to endeavour to answer some of the questions I’m asked the most frequently, and maybe, if I can, throw in a few pictures as examples for ya too. And maybe, just to be a brat, I’m only going to do one a day and make you come visit me on our page to learn something new everyday, sound fun? 

For today, let’s talk about shape and size. At the grocery store, you get to decide if you’re buying medium, large, or jumbo eggs. I’ve even seen the option to buy a dozen double yolkers. In commercial production, eggs get assessed for perfection, and that includes shape and size, but I feel like that would lead to a lot of waste. Around here, our farm fresh eggs taste just as awesome regardless of size or shape, so we keep ’em all!

 

Sometimes, the eggs are BIG, and sometimes, they can be pretty itty bitty. And everything in between!

 

Sometimes they’re roundish, almost like a golf ball, and sometimes they’re really pointy on the top, or tall and skinny!

But what does it all mean? Is one healthier than another? Better for you, or a sign of a healthier chicken? 

Nope!

Size can indicate age of a hen, they start out laying very tiny eggs, and they get bigger as they come in to full maturity, but even a fully mature hen sometimes drops me a “teeny”.

Shape can actually be an individual characteristic of a hen, so a hen that lays round eggs may always lay round eggs, and one that lays pointy eggs may always lay pointy eggs. If you hang out in the barn and stalk them enough to see who lays what (which, oddly enough, they don’t seem to appreciate me doing…) then you can learn which hen has or hasn’t laid one day by the characteristics of the eggs. I’ll tell you right now that I don’t know my hens quite that intimately… yet.


So there you go! Now you know why your box of farm fresh eggs has a mixture of sizes in it! Let me know your burning questions about farm fresh eggs, or chickens in general, and give me some ideas of what to answer in my next post!

Leave a Reply

