Summery, Yummery Lemon Zucchini Bread

Did I say bread? I meant cake. Let’s just call a spade and spade and admit that this sweet bread is basically just cake that you disguise as bread by baking in bread loaf pans. That said, go ahead and call it bread so you don’t have to feel guilty when you eat the whole thing in one evening (which totally didn’t actually happen… ).

I’m going to give you the low-down on baking this yummy bread and then after that, we will talk GLAZE. That’s right. Stay with me. I found this recipe originally over at Lil’ Luna, which I love, but I made a few small tweaks to suit me better (ie. I dropped the lemon zest, bc I don’t like lemon zest).

It’s zucchini season in the garden, and zucchini, like many things in the garden, has this fun tendency to be not ready, not ready, not ready, and then BAM, 25 all ready and ripe at the same time. Needless to say, we’ve been eating a lot of zucchini this week.

24

Here we go:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup grated zucchini

Step 1: Mix flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl and set aside.

1

**Don’t be thrown off by the quantities in my pictures, as I doubled the recipe. My motto is, why make one, when you can make two?**

Step 2: In a large bowl (preferably the bowl of your stand mixer), beat eggs. Then add oil and sugar and blend again. Add the lemon juice and buttermilk and blend it all again.

Quick Tip- If you’re like me, buttermilk isn’t one of those staple food products you keep on hand. For an easy kitchen life hack, remember that 1 cup: 1 tbsp ratio for buttermilk. For every 1 cup of milk, add 1 tbsp of vinegar (white or apple cider), stir and let stand for a couple minutes. Boom, buttermilk. You’re welcome.

2

Now you have your wet ingredients blended…

35

Can we just take a minute and ogle over the beautiful colour of this mix please? Those are farm fresh eggs in there giving it that beautiful, vibrant yellow colour. So pretty!

Ok, what’s next? Oh! The zucchini! Grate that up until you have a cup worth, or two cups if you’re doubling like me…

6

It took me about 1 and a half zucchini to make 2 cups, but it’ll greatly depend on the size of zucchini you have. The pic at the top shows you size mine were. Based on the size I usually get from the grocery store, I’d guess two zuks would give you one cup of grated. Just a guess.

Step 3: Fold the zucchini into the wet mixture.

7

I’m a little unsure why the term “fold” was used in the recipe here, since the wet is so thin and the zucchini such a small amount in comparison that “folding” was quite impossible. I think they just mean to be kinda gentle. Like no beaters used here, you don’t want your grated zucchini to turn into zucchini confetti or anything, but basically you’re just stirring it in.

Step 4: Add dry mixture (that we set aside earlier) to wet mixture and blend until it’s all well combined.

8

Step 5: Pour batter into your mouth greased loaf pans. Now when I say greased, I mean GREASED. Grease those mother effers down! (Pardon my language, but y’all are probably getting used to it by now…) I sprayed them well with cooking spray and I still had some sticking issues when they were done, so GREASE, GREASE, GREASE!

9

Step 6: Bake!! 350 degrees for a hella long time. Kidding, but the original recipe said 40-45 minutes and I had to toothpick check and put them in for another 5 twice, so total mine were in for 55 minutes. Individual ovens vary and blah, blah, etc. Maybe go for 40 and then start toothpick checking in five minute intervals. Your call.

And then, through the magic of heat, the bread is done! Cool on wire racks, use a spatula and knife to carefully remove them, checking for sticking.

1011

Isn’t that golden and magnificent? I’m drooling all over again just reliving the pictures.

Homer Drools     That’s me…

So there you go. That’s your delicious Lemon Zucchini Bread, and you can totally stop right there if you’d like and enjoy some super yummy and moist cake, er I mean, BREAD for breakfast.

But if you’d like to talk about GLAZE, then follow me my friends, to a magical land of icing…

Now here’s the thing about glaze/icing, it’s very much up to the individual how you like it and how much. So, since I made two loaves of bread, I did it two ways.

Option 1: Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice *optionally, you can do 3 tbsp of milk if you don’t want your glaze t be lemony*

 

Mix these all up together and spoon over your bread while it’s still warm from the oven. Let the glaze set before digging in.

1516

Mmm, glazey! This is a nice, subtle sweet addition to the bread. It dried nicely and was very “glazed donut”esque. There seemed to be a lot of glaze that just melted off on to the plate though…

Option 2: Icing, or as I like to call it, ICING!!!!!

Let’s note right off the top, that for this, we’re doing it on completely cooled bread, not still warm like we did with the glaze. Cooled.

Now how much icing you want depends on your taste but let’s just go with the standard measurement- A LOT.

  • 3/4 cup icing sugar
  • milk, in very tiny amounts

19

So, I have to apologize, but I cannot measure my milk usage when making icing. I just can’t. Let me just say, you need a very little bit. Go sloooooooooow. Measure some icing sugar into a bowl (the exact measurement isn’t too important) and then carefully and slowly add tiny amounts of milk. Even knowing this, I added too much, and had to add more icing sugar to thicken it up. For icing, you’re going to want it much thicker than the glaze was. You want this icing to drizzle very little.

20

But for all that commentary, it’s really the simplest thing to make. Just add little bits of milk and stir until it’s exactly the amount and consistency that YOU want. No one can take this away from you my friend, this is YOUR icing. Yours. Make it perfect for you. (As you can see, I take icing very seriously).

Now, drizzle:

21

I went for this cool, crisscrossy, checkered sort of pattern. I thought to myself, “This looks like an appropriate amount of icing”, and I snapped a picture for the blog, and called it done.

Then I added more icing for my actual consumption.

My end product may or may not have turned out like this:

22

One day Kyle and I were out for a walk when it started to rain. I of course started squealing about getting wet, and Kyle gave me the old, cliche, “It’s just a little rain, you won’t melt, are you made of sugar?” To which I replied, “Probably, it’s like 90% of all I eat!” And then I ran away for cover.

And so, this:

23

Iced Lemon Zucchini Bread, because the best way to eat your vegetables is baked into carbs and smothered in icing! 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

