Slime-Filled Cupcakes

I promised you I would tell you about the fiasco of the slime filled cupcakes, so here it is!

For Gavin’s Ghostbuster themed birthday party, we jumped on the trusty old internet to find some cool, themed cupcakes. We found a YouTube video tutorial for Halloween cupcakes that were filled with a green custard slime and Gavin was SO excited. We declared them Slimer cupcakes and I prepared to make 4 dozen so he could take some to school on his actual birthday and have some for the party.

19

So I made the cupcakes. I just made a box recipe for the cupcakes themselves, but the first batch I made I totally forgot to dye green, so they were no good. Had to start all over. Made the four dozen GREEN cupcakes and set them to cool. Then I made the slime. It’s not too difficult to make, I did remember to dye the slime green, thank goodness, and put it in the fridge to cool. Let’s go through the recipe and instructions for this lovely green goop.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup lime juice
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • green food colouring

1

I doubled the recipe since I was making so many cupcakes. The original recipe didn’t mention how many cupcakes you could fill out of the recipe but the double version went quite nicely into 48 cupcakes, so I’d say the regular version will make two dozen, give or take.

So, you just need the egg yolks, and they need to be whisked, so go ahead and separate those and whisk them up first.

2

In a medium saucepan, bring lime juice and sugar to a boil. Once it’s boiling, add a little of the boiling mixture to the egg yolks while continually stirring the yolks. This tempers the yolks and warms them up to the temperature of the hot mixture, so when you pour them into the saucepan they don’t cook into scrambled eggs.

Once the egg yolks have been tempered a little, you can add them to the saucepan.

3

Now cook this for about 10 minutes over med-high heat, whisking often, until thick.

Now you’re going to add in your 1/4 cup of butter but in small chunks, one chunk at a time, whisking thoroughly after each chunk to make sure it’s well melted.

Then you can add in green food colouring (or whatever colour you want really) until you have the desired shade.

6

I had a really hard time getting the colour I wanted because our farm fresh eggs are just so vibrantly yellow that it was hard to turn it green! It ended up very lime greeny.

Now you stick the custard in a bowl, cover it with plastic wrap, and refrigerate it until it’s totally cooled. It’ll be quite thick when it’s cooled, kind of like a jello, but not quite that thick.

7

So there you have your slime. The next step, once both the cupcakes and the slime are cool, is to fill the cupcakes.

Using a knife, cut into your cupcake at an angle (this reminded me of carving a lid for a jack o lantern at Halloween). This cuts out a nice little cone.

8910

Then, using an icing bag or a ziploc with the tip cut off, fill the cupcakes with some slime.

Then you want to cut the tip off the cone you removed from the cupcake, so there’s room for the slime, and replace the lid.

Then you just ice the cupcakes however you would normally. Gavin was so excited about this and really wanted to help.

15

Do you ever have those days in the kitchen where just everything that could possibly go wrong does? It doesn’t happen all that often but man, guaranteed it’ll happen on a day when you have a lot to make, and you’re on a deadline. From forgetting to dye the first batch of cupcakes, to dropping pretty much everything I touched on the floor, I just had one of those days. It was a disaster and all in all what should’ve taken me a couple hours, tops, took me pretty much the whole day. I was frustrated and tired by the time the cupcakes were done, but they were done! I had struggled through a bad day (no fault of the recipe, the recipe was straight forward and easy enough) to create the cupcakes my birthday boy really had his heart set on. Good mom moment, right? Until he tried them….

20

That’s right, I let Gavin and Grace each have a cupcake after dinner as a taste test and they both HATED THEM. Seriously, FML. I tried them, and I really liked them! The slime is super lime and sour, and when you take a bite with sweet cupcake, icing and sour slime all at once, it’s like one of those green sour patch kids gummies, know the ones? So I don’t think the recipe failed me or I failed the cupcakes, I think they are YUMMY if you LOVE sour things. My kids do not. I really should’ve thought this through before hand, because I certainly KNOW my kids don’t like sour flavoured candies. In the words of our favourite bad guy, Bad Cop (The Lego Movie): “Darn, darn, darny, darn!”

Ok, no problem. Just because MY crazy kids don’t like sour, doesn’t mean every kid doesn’t, right? I carried on with my plans.

The next morning is Gavin’s actual birthday. He’s so stoked. He opens his gifts. He runs around. He has his birthday cake smoothie breakfast. He has a lightsaber battle with his new lightsaber toys. He gets dressed in his “birthday boy” shirt. He’s all ready for school. And then… he has a “tummy ache”. He doesn’t want to go to school. He misses the bus, Grace goes without him. Poor baby is sick on his birthday? But he doesn’t seem legitimately sick. So I ask him, what’s wrong buddy? Press him a little. He’s ashamed of the cupcakes!! Seriously, all that hard work, and he says he’s afraid the kids at school won’t like the cupcakes either. So, I guess bringing cupcakes to school on your birthday is a pretty big deal in the first grade, and he didn’t want to bring gross cupcakes. Let me repeat, in case you forgot, that I liked the cupcakes. They are yummy cupcakes! Anyway, I finally caved in and suggested we run to the grocery store and buy a couple pans of cupcakes, which he thought was a great idea. We did that, took him to school, tummy ache disappeared, and he had a great day.

Now I have 50 delicious cupcakes staring at me with no one to eat them. I ate two for lunch.

16

I went to the grocery store and re-bought ingredients for cupcakes and icing. I spent the afternoon making two dozen new cupcakes, without slime, turning them green and icing them. Replacement cupcakes ready for the birthday party.

But what to do with these four dozen slimer cupcakes? There’s no way I’m going to allow myself to eat four dozen cupcakes on my own. As much as I may be entirely capable of such a feat, it’s just not ok. I could have frozen them if they weren’t iced, but in my experience iced cupcakes don’t do well in the freezer. And even if I froze them, it’d still be ME eating all the cupcakes, just more slowly. So, I did what any crazy, Kijiji-loving girl would do- I posted them on a Buy/Sell page for free. And guess what? They got picked up! One lady emailed me and said she was craving something sweet and sour (preggo!) and wanted them, but then she wasn’t able to get them. Another lady came and picked them up and said she has six kids (6!) between the ages of 4 and 18 and she was sure they’d get eaten up. Turns out she was friends with the preggo lady too so she dropped some off to her on her way home. So the cupcakes were enjoyed!! Yay!! Both ladies wrote me afterwards to say that everyone loved the cupcakes. So on the bright side, they didn’t end up in either my big fat belly or the trash. That’s a positive. And Gavin was very happy with his slime-free cupcakes for his birthday party.

19

And that, my friends, is the story of the Slime-Filled Cupcake Fiasco. If you try this recipe, definitely let me know what you think of them, and I hope you do enjoy them as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

