Easy 3 Ingredient Sloppy Joes

Happy Friday Everyone! I’m really enjoying writing recipe blogs for Fridays. Something about the weekend just re-energizes me to try out new recipes!

Today I’m showing you my favourite Sloppy Joe recipe. It’s my favourite because it only takes THREE ingredients (aside from your pound of ground meat)! It’s super easy.

IMG_1213

Ingredients:

  • 1lb ground meat (I used turkey)
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 1/8 cup mustard
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • some sort of buns for serving

IMG_1200

I usually double this recipe. For one, I find the measurements easier (I don’t have an 1/8 cup dry measure cup) and also we LOVE it so we eat a lot, lol. One pound of meat is going to give you four 1/4lb sized servings (if you can picture a quarter pounder from McDonald’s, you get the size).

The directions are super easy.

Step One: Brown the ground meat in a skillet or deep sided frying pan.

If you want to cook just like me, go ahead and forget to get the ground meat out of the freezer until the last minute, and then have to chip away at the ice block while it’s in the pan. Every. Single. Time.

IMG_1202

Step Two: Drain if needed

Ground beef makes a fair amount of grease, because it’s fatty. If you use ground turkey or chicken, there’s usually little to no grease to drain.

Step Three: Add in the brown sugar, mustard, and ketchup. Stir to combine.

IMG_1203

Step Four: Allow to simmer on low for about 5 minutes.

IMG_1204

Step Five: Serve on buns and with your favourite side.

Today we had potato wedges as a side, with Epicure’s Pizza Oven Fries seasoning. Yummy!!

IMG_1209IMG_1215

I hope you enjoy this one! Have a great weekend!

 

 

Leave a Reply

