Easter Pancakes!

Easter is early this year and right around the corner! I am NOT a crafty/artsy person, so if I’m going to make something festive, especially festive with food, it needs to be pretty damn straight forward, lol. I’m the person making all those “Pinterest Fail” photos we all love to laugh at. So when the kids asked for an Easter breakfast, I had to scroll through my Pinterest and think about things I could maybe actually pull off. I decided on the very straight forward pancake, using my pancake pens I gushed about in an earlier post, and to colour them into pastels with food colouring and make them “egg shaped”. I would rate my final product as a solid “decent”.

The good news is, if I can pull this off, so can you! Here’s the recipe for pancakes I like best:

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tbsp + 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 2 egg
  • 2 1/2 cup milk
  • cooking spray

1

Directions:

In a large bowl, sift together dry ingredients.

3

Whisk in melted butter, egg and milk. I had Thor helping me out this morning.

Pro-tip: When cooking with kids, always have them crack eggs into a small dish first, not directly into the recipe. That way you can pick out all the shell before you mix it in! Ha!

5

Let stand 5 minutes to thicken up.

7

Divide the batter into smaller bowls or measuring cups. As many as variety of colours you’d like.

8

I’d like to take a quick minute to let us all observe my super messy cooking space. I see my ipad (which is disgustingly dirt from kiddie fingers playing with it), Gavin’s birthday party invitation, Blankie and Lambie (two highly loved and respected individuals in our household), and a big ‘ol stack of random papers and crap that need to be dealt with. Do we all have that big stack of papers somewhere in our kitchen? Yes, yes we do. I’ve purposely showed you my messy side so you know you’re not alone.

You’re welcome.

Back to the recipe…

Add food colouring to each bowl until you’ve achieved the desired colour. We went with pale pastels for Easter- blue, pink, purple and green.

11

Once you have your colours ready, preheat your skillet or pan to about 350 degrees. Spray generously with cooking spray.

I used a spoon for some, spooning small amounts of batter onto the skillet at a time for better control. First we made the design (ie. zigzags, swirls, polka dots) and then we filled in the surrounding area with batter in to some sort of egg-like shape. It was pretty hit or miss, lol.

Then I used my pancake pens, and made some solid coloured egg shaped pancakes. These were a lot simpler and turned out a lot better, lol.

12

Generally with me, the simpler something is, the higher likelihood of me being successful.

20

They’re egg shaped, right? I could try some of the crazy Pinterest Easter ideas with bunny faces and chick heads and whatnot, but you know what? Ain’t nobody got time for that. I have real eggs to collect and real chicks to feed, sooooo, enjoy your slightly misshapened Easter egg pancakes kids, momma is out!

22

Some weren’t egg shaped, just Easter coloured, and guess what? They tasted great! Shocking, I know.

232629

Nom nom nom. The end.

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

