Winter Burgers

In honour of it being the coldest day of the year so far (-40 degrees out there!) I wanted to pretend like it’s summer and make hamburgers. Of course there’s absolutely no way I’m actually going to go out there and barbeque. I’m crazy, but not quite that crazy. Instead, I made this recipe for Slow Cooker Hamburgers, which the kids have decided to call “Winter Burgers”.

13

It’s kind of like a Sloppy Joe, but tastes more like a traditional hamburger, especially when you top it with all the classic burger fixings.

1

Here’s your recipe (makes about 6-8 burgers):

Ingredients:

  • 2lbs ground meat (I used ground turkey)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1/4- 1/2 tsp garlic powder, depending on personal tastes
  • 2 tbsp yellow mustard
  • 3/4 cup chopped pickles
  • 1 cup cheese spread (aka Cheese Whiz)
  • Burger buns and desired burger toppings

It’s super easy. I had to make only a few changes from the original recipe…

First, brown your meat in a skillet. I’m gonna assume you know how to do this. Drain if needed (when I use lean ground turkey or chicken, there usually isn’t any fat to drain, but I believe beef will create fat).

6

While that’s browning, you can prep your other ingredients. The original recipe called for “6-8 pickle chips”. If you don’t know what a pickle chip is, then I say thank you for helping me not feel like such a newb, because I didn’t either. Quick google search and I *think* pickle chips are just those pre-cut pickles you can buy that are cut into rounds, do you know what I mean? Anyway, I only had regular old pickles so I chopped a couple of them up into rounds, and then chopped up those rounds.

4

The original recipe said 6-8, but we really like pickles, so I went with about 12, as you can see.

5

It ended up being about 3/4 cup.

Next is Cheese Whiz. I have to admit, I don’t really like Cheese Whiz normally, but I will usually have a slice of processed cheese on my burger, so I gave it a try. It’s actually really good, because it just melts in with the meat and other ingredients, and it adds flavour and helps bind it all without being very Cheese-Whizzy tasting. You could also melt any other kind of cheese spread I’m sure.

8

Next, you just add the cooked meat and all your other ingredients to the crock pot. The original recipe said to spray with cooking oil. I forgot and everything was fine, but feel free to go for it if you want to be sure. 😉

9

Now stir it all together. Maybe you discover that your puppy got ahold of your big mixing spoon in the dishwasher and made some puppy bites in it. Maybe that’s just me.

10
Don’t worry, it’s clean.

Mix ‘er all up and slow cook it for two hours on low.

While that was cooking, I made a side salad. Pasta salad, because that seems summery to me, and we’re pretending it’s summer.

2

I would give you the recipe for this delicious salad, but it’s Top Secret. Sorry, I just can’t.

Ok, ok. Twist my arm. Here’s my secret..

3

Yep, it’s Club House. See, I’m a real person, not everything is home made from scratch or fancy. 😉 Anyhow, super yummy salad mix and easy to make.

By now, your dinner is probably almost ready. Here’s an extreme close up in case you like to thoroughly inspect your food, as I do.

12

Melty and cheesy and pickley! Yum!

14

Assemble and enjoy! And yes, I put more pickle on top of my burger as well. I like pickles. Don’t judge me! ;P

Hope your day is feeling warmer!

 

Leave a Reply

