BBQ Pulled Chicken

Since we don’t eat any beef or pork I’m always looking for new ways to make chicken dinner interesting (we also do vegetarian meals and we LOVE pasta) so when I came across this recipe on Pinterest, I couldn’t wait to try it out. Call me crazy, but I never knew you could make “pulled” chicken! I always thought Pulled Pork I’d see at events and things looked sooooooo good, but couldn’t eat it. So clearly, this made me pretty excited.

I had to replace the BBQ sauce called for with another brand. And by “had to” I actually mean I chose to replace it with my very very fave brand of BBQ sauce, Diana Sauce.

1

I made this for a big crowd, so you may want to halve it all if it’s just your family, but that’s easy to do and man, is it ever easy to cook!

4

I buy my chicken in bulk, then freeze it in baggies with 2-3 breasts in each. That’s how many our family will typically eat in a meal. I thawed all the chicken in a glass pan in the fridge overnight.

Here’s your ingredients:

6 lbs (about 10) boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3 cups BBQ Sauce
1 medium onion, grated (with juice)
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp worchestershire sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar

I don’t believe I’ve ever grated an onion before. I did it on the cheese grater- is that even right? I dunno, but it turned out delicious in the end, so it’s a win!

Mix all the sauce ingredients together in the slow cooker.

2

Toss in the chicken and turn to coat.

5

Cook on high for 3.5-4 hours, low for 6-8 hours.

6

Once it’s done (chicken is cooked through) it should be really easy to shred. I was unsure about this step, but trust me, it’s easy. Take the chicken out a few pieces at a time and put them on a cutting board, then use two forks to pull it apart and shred it.

When I do a half recipe of the sauce, and only use 3-4 breasts,  I’m able to skip the cutting board all together (yay for fewer dishes!) and just shred it right inside the slow cooker. It’s that easy.

Next, toss all the shredded chicken back in the slow cooker and mix it into the sauce. I left it in there on low for a few minutes while I whipped up a Caesar salad to go on the side. Then you just pile it as high as you like on buns.

10

Like I said, I made this for a crowd. We had friends of ours over for dinner. My son’s friend Jack was sitting at the counter with him while I was plating the food, and I took a few minutes to snap some pictures of it to share with you. He leans over to my son, eyebrows drawn together and whispered out of the corner of his mouth, “Your mom’s taking pictures of the food.” Gavin sighs and says, “Yeah, she does that sometimes.”

I’m pretty sure the six year olds think I’m weird. Hope you enjoy a yummy dinner from this weirdo! 😉

Leave a Reply

