To. Die. For. Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

My friend was having a bad week and I thought I’d make her some cookies to cheer her up. I’ve been wanting to try out these Mint Chocolate Chip cookies for awhile, and this was a perfect excuse. Here’s my version:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp peppermint extract
  • 6-12 drops of green food colouring
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream butter and sugar together.

IMG_0172

Add eggs, extract, and food colouring and stir until combined.

IMG_0174

Because I use eggs fresh from our own chickens, I find the yellow of the yolks to be really vibrant. You can see how bright a colour it is! I had to add A LOT more food colouring than the original recipe called for, that’s why in my version I’ve made such a big range in the number of drops to use. Start small, and add more and stir until you get the shade you like. Next time, I think I’d go even darker green myself.

IMG_0175
Not quite the colour I was hoping for…
IMG_0176
Added more and more colouring until I was happy

Next, add in the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cream of tartar, and salt. Once fully combined, fold in the chocolate chips.

IMG_0177

Omg does that not look delicious already??? Like Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream! I may or may not have eaten some dough. Ok, a lot of dough.

Roll into “small” balls and place on a cookie sheet. So I read those instructions and made small balls (about 1″) thinking they would spread as they baked. They didn’t spread much. And for me, well, I like me a big cookie. Then I can say “I only ate 2!” and feel good about my self control, when I really just ate a quarter of the cookies. So my first batch was small cookies (otherwise known as “the kids’ cookies”) and then next batch I went much, much bigger (about 2″ balls).

IMG_0182

Product Tip: I LOVE my silicon baking mats. It makes it so easy to clean up, because the actual baking tray stays clean. The silicon mat goes into the dishwasher and the cookie sheet goes back in the cupboard. Done and done.

Finally, bake what’s left of the dough in the form of the cookies for 10-12 minutes. Let them cool on the sheet for 2-3 minutes before removing to wire rack to cool completely.

IMG_0189

Not to toot my horn or anything, but these turned out pretty freakin’ fantastic. You gotta try them. Enjoy!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

