My Favourite Waffles

So I’m thinking of doing recipes on Fridays- what do you think? Hopefully I have, or can come up with, enough recipes to keep that up! If not it can be an every second Friday thing…

This morning was cold and bright and the kids and I wanted something hot and yummy for breakfast. Waffles of course!

Waffles (12)

My recipe comes from the Epicure website, which I discovered after I got my Silicon Waffle Molds from Epicure. Product plug: I freakin’ LOVE Epicure. No I don’t sell it, so you know I’m telling you honestly: It’s Love.

So here’s the recipe:

2 cups flour
3 Tbsp sugar
2 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp Salt
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cups vegetable oil, plus extra for brushing

I usually make at least a double batch, if not a triple or quadruple, depending on how my ingredients supply is. I bake them all, then freeze the leftovers in ziploc bags with some wax paper in between each waffle. Then we can take out as many as we need any given morning and pop them in the toaster! It makes an easy, quick and awesome school day breakfast. You can also send them frozen, cut in strips, with a small container of syrup to school for fun waffle dippers lunch!

Here’s your instructions for making these lovelies.

Preheat oven to 425° F (220° C).
In a medium bowl, combine dry ingredients.

Waffles

Even better if you have some adorable helpers to do it for you…

Such concentration on their little faces!

In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, milk, vanilla extract, and oil.

Waffles (5)

Slowly whisk wet ingredients into dry, until just combined.

Waffles (7)

Place Waffle Mold on Baking Sheet. Using a silicon brush (like for the bbq), lightly brush Waffle Mold with oil. Enlist child labour for this fun task.

Waffles (8)

Please excuse my messy kitchen!

Next, pour approximately ¼ cup of batter into each mold, filling all corners.

Waffles (9)

Waffles (10)

Bake 12–15 minutes, or until golden.

When cool to the touch, flip Waffle Mold over a platter, and gently remove waffles. Repeat with remaining batter.

Here’s an example of what “golden” looks like…

Waffles (11)

But let’s be honest, that looks kinda dry and boring. So… we added a little more deliciousness- strawberries, strawberry syrup, and whipped cream. Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about!

Waffles (13)

So good- the kids devoured them.

Side note: This recipe works just as well with a traditional waffle iron. Cook each waffle for about 5 minutes, or until golden.

If you’re interested in a silicon mold, I highly recommend it. It let’s me make 6 waffles at a time instead of one, so we all sit down and eat together. I’m not sure where you can find yourself one, but I’m guessing Amazon or eBay or your local kitchen store would be a good start. If you want the actual Epicure one that I have (and it’s PURPLE, so of course you DO!) then you can shop for it here, giving props to my friend Carmen who is my own Epicure rep.

I almost forgot the last step of the recipe– EAT!! Nomnomnom.

 

 

Leave a Reply

